Home Page

 renada School District logo, slogan Education, Training, Dreams, 253 South Main, P.O. Box 1940, Grenada, MS  38902-1940, 662-226-1606

Photo of Stephanie Raper

Stephanie Raper
In the Loop Editor

                NNDCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NNDCC The Grenada High School chapter of the Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps / Navy National Defense Cadet Corp recently held its awards ceremony for the 2014 – 2015 school year. Chief Newtroin Foreman presided over the event held at the GHS gym, and along with representatives from various national organizations that support our military, presented awards. The ceremony provided an opportunity to honor the Cadet Corps for their hard work and dedication throughout the year. In addition to the individual awards handed out at the ceremony, the cadets previously won 16 team trophies and 2 medals in competition against other schools. This year, the GHS unit placed 30th out of 49 schools in Area Eight for NJROTC, up from 49 out of 49 two years ago. Also this year, for the first time, the unit attended the JROTC State Meet for Physical Training where they placed 15th out of 90 Mississippi schools.

The following awards were presented: • American Legion JROTC General Military Excellence Medal Award - Nyesha Harvey and Robert Evans
• NS-1 Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award – Dallin Foreman
• NS-3 Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award – Jeremiah Corey
• Order of Daerdalians Award- Johnathan Lee
• Daughters of the American Revolution Award – Asiah Myers
• Sons of the American Revolution Award – Hansen Bennett
• National Sojouners Award – Glenneisa Frost
• Military Order of the Purple Heart – Catarrus Black
• Distinguished Cadet Award (Academics & Aptitude): NS-4, Ashley Bacon; NS-3, Hansen Bennett; NS-2, Robert Evans; NS-1, Chance Wortham
• Honor Cadet Award (Academic) – NS-4, Ashley Bacon; NS-3, Nyesha Harvey; NS-2, Robert Evans; NS-1, Dylan Smith
• Outstanding Cadet Award All Around Excellence – NS-4, Caleb Blair; NS-3, Hansen Bennett; NS-2, Catarrus Black; NS-1, Lakesha Harbin
• Scottish Rite- Angelique Brown
• Non-Commissioned Officer – Olivia Coleman
• Navy Youth League- Hansen Bennett
• Military Officers Association of America- Donald Brown
• Military Order of World Wars- Quanisha Travis
• NJROTC Aptitude Award:
o NS-1: Chance Wortham, Dallin Forman, Ethan Ratliff, Camron Morgan, Lakesha Harbain, Ariona Yates, Hunter Provine
o NS-2: Catarrus Black, Brianna Brooks, Myka Smith, Lakyesha Frost, Olivia Coleman, Devin Wiggins, Kylee Dulin, Danial Coward, Robert Evens, Jimeiah Cashaw, Paige Austin
o NS-3: Angelique Brown, Donald Brown, Asia Myers, Glenneisa Frost, Jeremiah Corey, Johnathan Lee, Hansen Bennett, Quanisha Travis, Nyesha Harvey
o NS-4: Ashley Bacon, Caleb Blair, Anecia Ford, Portia Fox, James McCarroll, Lajarvas Simpson, Alteesha Thompson
• Physical Fitness – Chance Wortham, Dylan Smith, Lakesha Harbin, Jamilha Govan, Caturrus Black, Xzavier Ellis, Brianna Brooks, Caleb Blair, Hansen Bennett, Nyesha Harvey, Quanisha Travis, Anfernee Clemons, Kenneth Travis, Johnathan Lee, Keino Bounds, Darian Johnson.
• Exemplary Personal Appearance Award – Hansen Bennet, Angelique Brown, Donald Brown, Glenneisa Frost, Nyesha Harvey, Johnathan Lee, Asiah Myers, Quanisha Travis, Christopher Payton, Hunter Provine, Caturrus Black, Dallin Forman, Ethan Ratliff, Dylan Smith, Chance Wortham, Lakesha Harbin, Lakyesha Frost
• Letter Jackets for NS-3 Cadets – Payton Atkins, Page Austin, Catarrus Black, Brianna Brooks, Myka Smith, Lakyesha Frost, Olivia Coleman, Devin Wiggins, Kylee Dulin, Danial Coward, Robert Evens, Jimeiah Cashaw, Xzavier Ellis, Glenna Golliday, Matthew Johnson

Another momentous event took place at the ceremony as the current JROTC staff members turned over their job responsibilities to the new staff members for the 2014 – 2015 school year. The following changes in command were made:
• Cadet Company Commander - Portia Fox turned over her command to Hansen Bennett
• Executive Officer - Hansen Bennett turned over his post to Glenneisa Frost;
• Operations Officer - Caturrus Black
• Administrative Officer - Ashley Bacon to Donald Brown
• Command Senior Chief - Caleb Blair to Asiah Myers
• Community Service Officer - Anecia For to Quanisha Travis
• Public Affairs Officer - Olivia Coleman
• Supply - Joey Brown to Myka Smith
• Weapons Office - Johanthan Lee to Devin Wiggins
• Store Manager - to be determined
• Personal Officer – Kylee Dulin
• Unarmed Drill Team Commander - Hansen Bennett • EX Commander - Angelique Brown
• Armed Drill Team Commander - to be determined
• EX Commander - to be determined
• Colorguard Team Commander - to be determined
• Orienteering Team Commander - (Land Navigation) Jeremiah Corey
• Rifle Team Commander - To be determined
• Athletes Commander - Darian Johnson
• Honor Guard - Hansen Bennett
• FIRST PLATOON - Anecia Ford to Johnathan Lee; Guide-On - Tytianna Rounds
• SECOND PLATOON - Glennesia Frost to Asiah Myers; Guide-On – Darian Johnson
• THIRD PLATOON - Nyesha Harvey to Jeremaih Corey; Guide-On - Kamiya Clark

Congratulations to all the Cadets who received recognition for their efforts during 2014-2015 school year!